Key Facts
loading...Please wait while content is loading.
Key Facts

Official Name:
23rd FIBA Asia Women Championship

Local Organizing Committee (Chennai) - FIBA Asia Championship 2009

From September 17 until 24, 2009

Chennai, India

Participating teams:
View participating teams

  • China
  • Chinese Taipei
  • India (host)
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Korea
  • Lebanon
  • Malaysia
  • Philippines
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Uzbekistan


Top three book tickets to Czech Republic

The 23rd FIBA Asia Women Championship will feature 12 teams – divided into two levels.

The top three teams from Level I will book their ticket to the 2010 FIBA World Championship for Women scheduled to be held in Czech Republic from Sept 23 to Oct 3, 2010.

This will be the first time India will host the FIBA Asia Women Championship.

Korea hold the record for the maximum number of appearances – having participated in all the 22 Championships so far.

Korea have also won a medal in all the 22 Championships winning the gold medal a staggering 12 times, the latest being at the 22nd FIBA Asia Women Championship when they hosted the event in Incheon in 2007.

Asian basketball powerhouse China have won nine gold medals in 17 appearances followed by Japan with 18 medals – including one gold – in 21 appearances.

Chinese Taipei complete the East Asian dominance in the FIBA Asia Women Championship, with nine medals in 17 appearances.

In fact, starting from the 1986 edition of the Championship the foursome have finished in the top four in all the Championships.

Thailand are the only country to have won a medal apart from these four countries.

China, Korea and Chinese Taipei were the three teams to represent FIBA Asia in the 2006 FIBA World Championship for women in Brazil.
Final Results
3rd Place
FIBA Daily Newsletter
Subscribe to our daily newsletter and get the latest basketball news directly into your mailbox.